Photo

Parker Vacumatic Oversize - Convertible Pen?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 SLM

SLM

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationUSA, Virginia

Posted 25 April 2011 - 02:41 AM

Hello To All -

I am new here, but not new to pens, I have been collecting for several years and am a self taught restorer. I was refererred here by David I. for help with this vacumatic.

I got lucky enough to get this pen as part of on an eBay Buy it Now Lot for less than $50 shipped. Photos of it are below. I fully expected a standard size pen at best, I was shocked when I opened the package to find a beautiful oversize lockdown filler - my first oversize Vac.

It has a 26 (2nd quarter, 1936) date code. Based on the photos in the eBay listing I thought someone had just stuck an old desk pen end on it, but upon receiving it, the desk pen taper seems to be correct. I did some research and I found that Parker did sell some pens as convertible pens, including a taper with the pen, but did the Vacumatic ever come this way? The black taper screws onto the threads perfectly and lines up nicely with the barrel end.

Can anyone tell me for sure if this pen is correct with the black desk pen taper or should I try to find a blind cap? I do not think it is correct, I believe the taper may be for Duofold Senior. I am guessing that finding a 1936 oversize blind cap with tassie & striped jewel is going to be near impossible, right?

Steve

Posted Image

Posted Image

#2 david i

david i

ADVISOR

• ADVISORS
  • 7,515 posts
  • LocationEast Coast USA

Posted 25 April 2011 - 12:51 PM

Hello To All -
SNIP