16 replies to this topic

#1 welch

welch

journeyman

• Members
  • 104 posts
  • LocationNYC

Posted 09 December 2013 - 01:14 AM

Over on FPN, someone has asked a tough question about Sheaffer Valiants: both Snorkel and TD fillers. I skimmed, so it might not have covered TDs, but the poster has a fascinating flow-chart by the wonderful Teri M plotting how to determine what model Sheaffer you might have found.

[Professional note: I've been working in the computer industry since 1981 and have never written a flow-chart, partly because thney were considered obsolete by 1980, but also because we get confused trying to follow the decision points. I could explain more, but it would be like having Doctor David name the bones in the human body.]

The OP's problem, I believe, is that  a few people, such as David and Teri and others probably mostly on FPB, can differentiate the Sheaffer models 1948 - 1955 or so, most EBay sellers cannot. If a pen has a Snorkel filler, it's a Snork. Even, sometimes, if it's a Touchdown...and some don't know the difference between a plunger filler and a TD filler. I think I remember a TD filler called a "piston filler" once.

Could a few experts drop by the thread at:

http://www.fountainp...eneric-snorkel/

and lend some advice?

My own advice was to contact David or Teri and ask them to find the pen he wants. Probably others could do as well, but I remember a line on Vacumania in which, in my memory, David says that Sheaffers are his second focus...second only to Vacs. So...

(and I wish Sheaffers were easily to classify!!)

#2 Hugh

Hugh

journeyman

• Members
  • 1,878 posts
  • LocationNorthern NSW, Australia

Posted 09 December 2013 - 04:05 AM