27 replies to this topic

#1 welch

welch

journeyman

• Members
  • 104 posts
  • LocationNYC

Posted 27 July 2013 - 01:24 AM

I have been baffled for several years by the assumption, found widely on "another" fountain pen board, that I need:

- waterproof
- bulletproof
- archival
- freeze-proof
- fraud-resistant
- fire-proof
- bomb-proof

inks.

I've lost count of the threads that begin, "I'm a student, so of course I need a water-prooof ink", or "I'm writing a journal for posterity, so the ink must not fade for 300 years". Linked to them, I think, are ink-reviews that sneeringly dismiss an ink as "flees at the approach of water. Others begin, "I live in south Georgia, so humidity causes my hands to smear common ink". (I grew up in Washington, DC, wherfe it gets about as humid as anyplace, and at a time when we were expected to practice our "cursive" writing with a fountain pen. (Mine was a Sheaffer cartridge...less mess)

Why?

Much of this is unwordly amd illogical, or else Parker, Sheaffer, and other ink-makers missed a huge market when the fountain pen was the universal word-procesor. They were large companies, and both Parker and Sheaffer continually looked for a competitive edge. Quink with Solv-x. for instance, should have helped to win WW2 because it would reduce the death of ink-sacs and provide more rubber for the war effort.

This sort of discussion is discouraged in "that other" pen board, for reasons I can't quite understand. Is it that many -- too many -- people there read and believe everything from an on-line pen&ink seller, who believes all the advertising from an ink company that seems to concentrate on saturated water-proof inks? My Dad laughs about someof the weird things he saw in the navy, including fellow-mechanics who forgot to take fountain pens out of their shirt pockets before climbing into the back seat of a dive bomber -- getting flight time toward flight pay, but landing with a shirt full of ink...ibnk that was tough to wash out.