#1 catfish

catfish

greenhorn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationSaskatchewan, Canada

Posted 31 August 2014 - 01:24 AM

As I was about to post this, I saw Procyon's post on his beautiful silver and gold sleeve fillers, purchased on  Ebay....well done!

My pen was found at a country flea market a few days ago. I'm trying to decide whether to restore the pen myself (I have some experience) and keep it, or sell to someone else and let them have it restored. I certainly don't want to risk damaging it. If I decide to proceed myself, I would appreciate any advice on how I should proceed.

Attached Files

#2 Procyon

Procyon

journeyman

• Members
  • 725 posts
  • LocationSouthern California

Posted 31 August 2014 - 06:09 PM

Nice pen!  You didn't show a picture of the opening, so I was wondering if the pressure bar is there. If so, it should be easy to restore, and probably will sell easier if it is restored. It looks like you probably don't need nib realignment, so a little flushing, a new sac, and light hand polishing should do the trick.

If it were me, I would keep it.  It's really a neat pen.

Edited by Procyon, 31 August 2014 - 06:18 PM.

Schrödinger's cat walks into a bar.  And doesn't.

Regards,
Allan

#3 catfish

catfish

greenhorn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 31 August 2014 - 06:38 PM

Thanks for the reply Allan. Yes, the pressure bar is present...somewhat corroded but hopefully salvagable. Can you tell me if the section is threaded into the barrel?

Regards

Alf

Attached Files

#4 Procyon

Procyon

journeyman

• Members
  • 725 posts

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:20 PM