14 replies to this topic

#1 pensilly

pensilly

greenhorn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 28 January 2012 - 03:02 PM

Hi, can someone tell me anything about this LeBouef please? It has a no. 8 nib and a sleeve filler. Is this a rare pen? It's the only LeBouef I have, and I'm really not an expert on the brand. I'm a new member and will be going through the forum to learn more about these pens.

I got it years ago in a trade and have no idea what it would even be worth today. All input is most welcome! Thanks!

Posted Image

Edited by pensilly, 28 January 2012 - 10:40 PM.

#2 david i

david i

ADVISOR

• ADVISORS
  • 7,515 posts
  • LocationEast Coast USA

Posted 28 January 2012 - 04:10 PM

Hi, can someone tell me anything about this LeBouef please? It has a no. 8 nib and a sleeve filler. Is this a rare pen? It's the only LeBouef I have, and I'm really not an expert on the brand. I'm a new member and will be going through the forum to learn more about these pens.

I got it years ago in a trade and have no idea what it would even be worth today. All input is most welcome! Thanks!

Hi,

Hey, do put that image in GALLERY. It's worth seeing full size at first glance :)

This Leboeuf is quite scarce. Some collectors call it "bumblebee" pattern, though I know of no original literature from Leboeuf describing this pen. #8 maks it the big boy. For those unfamiliar, Leboeuf made high quality pens often with grand and unusual colors. I vaguely recall Leboeuf made its own celluloid and that some evidence suggests this small make might have used celluloid even before Sheaffer. Information about Leboeuf also is scarce.

I do a great deal of pen photography. Have shot about 6000 old pens, mostly from collections that are not mine. Since scale and lighting are identical for all shots, I can mix images to make some nice montages.

I shot a bumblebee oversized Leboeuf a few years ago, a pen found by Paul Erano. It sold well in short order.