Finalist

greenhorn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • LocationSacramento, CA

Posted 11 February 2014 - 03:03 PM

Hi,

I'm new to Fp collecting - just started during my Christmas break about a month ago. I received a karas Bolt pen and that created interest in good gel ink refills which brought me to boards and forums where the FP rules... I had to have one. My first FP was a cheap Scripto that looks great and now jas a new nib. Then I purchased a Twsbi Mini, some ink and a few pads. Then came the discovery of the John Mottishaw Falcon flex youtube videos. I had to have some flex! I ordered a Serwex MB with flex (really enjoy it) and recently I was on the hunt for vintage FP. That brings me here. I purchased a Parker thrift time of some sort that needed some repair (i'll start a new thread). I'm almost done with the repair as I only need a new sac and some shellac now.

On a personal side I'm a very avid golfer (around scratch) and an art director for a custom club company. FP seem so natural of a hobby for me since my passion for typography is something I work at everyday. I never thought much of calligraphy - just typefaces - untill recently. I've really enjoyed a lot of examples and videos of hand crafted phrases and lettering. In college I spent a lot of time learning about type and character design, yet very little on handwriting. Well, here I am... Ready to learn!

Thanks, Ryan

#2 Greg Minuskin

Greg Minuskin

journeyman

• Members
  • 898 posts
  • LocationTustin, California USA

Posted 11 February 2014 - 04:51 PM

Welcome!

​You will find the folks here at the FP Board really knowledgable and very friendly, and frankly, a much more learned audience willing to help you out. This "IS" the place to grow and to know about fountain pens!